California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Placentia, CA, April 3, 2013)
Corona, California's Steve Limon became the third different California Lightning Sprint Car driver to post a win in as many races in 2013 when he outdistanced the field on the shores of the Pacific Ocean at the Ventura Raceway last Saturday night. For the 2011 CLS Rookie of the Year, it was his second ever victory in CLS competition. 

Coming from the outside of the second row on the start, Limon found himself runner-up at the end of the first circuit behind outside front row starter Tom Downing of Lakewood. Murrieta's Zach Zauss was up to third on lap three chased by Placentia's Dan Hillberg and Guy Maresch of Anaheim Hills.

Limon immediately began to apply the heat to Downing, but the former SCRA Sprint Car pilot was able to fight off all of his advances. Zauss spun in turn two while fourth to bring out the first yellow flag of the main. Once the green came back out, the fight for the lead continued between Downing and Limon. Just behind the lead duo, Hillberg, Maresch and Hemet teenager Alexander Bissett hooked up in a crowd pleasing battle for third that eventually included 2012 champion Bobby Michnowicz for a short period of time before the throttle bodies came off knocking him out of the race. 

Downing, in his best ever CLS run, fought off everything Limon could throw at him until he left a little bit of space open on the inside going into turn three on the tenth lap. Limon swooped on the opportunity and motored by for the lead and went the rest of the way for the victory.

While Limon put some distance between himself and the rest of the field, the battle for second stayed entertaining until the end of the 20-lapper. When it was all settled and done, Downing took a personal CLS best by taking second with Hillberg, Bissett and Maresch closing out the top five. Zauss, who had to restart at the back after his spin, drove back to 6th. 

Damon Arnett, a second year CLS competitor from San Diego, was the Hard Charger in the main event going from 13th on the start to 7th. Before the checkered, Helendale's Jeff Dyer had come from 12th to 5th, but was knocked out when he broke a chain and finished 14th.

Michnowicz and Bissett won the two heat races earlier in the night. San Clemente's Ronnie Hancock, the top rookie thus far in the season, out qualified the 15-car field with a dazzling lap of 11.989. Hancock was plagued by a broken shock in the main and finished 13th.

Limon continues to lead the championship standings, but is only 9 points ahead of Hillberg. Downing sits third in the standings followed by Maresch and Bissett in fourth and fifth respectively. The best battle in the standings is from fourth place Maresch back to 7th place Hancock. They are separated by a mere 6-points and have Bissett and Zauss sandwiched in between. 

The CLS gets this Saturday night before returning to its home track, Perris Auto Speedway, for one of its biggest races of the year with the World of Outlaw Sprint Cars on April 13th. 

For 2013, cars in the CLS will be carrying transponders and they will qualify at all events. The driver with the most fast qualifying times at the end of the season will win the "Cold Fire West Qualifying Championship" and will pocket an extra $500.00. Another new sponsor to the series this season is Extreme Muffler. They will sponsor the "Extreme Muffler Heat Race Championship" and the driver with the most heat race wins will collect a $500.00 check. 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank series sponsors Christian Stover Foundation, Rod End Supply, Cold Fire West, Sander Engineering, Saldana Race Products, DK Machining and Fabrication, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Circle Track Performance, Extreme Muffler, Performance by Rosson Racing, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Oil Twins Amsoil and Haul Ass Fuel. If you or your company would like to become part of the California Lightning Series for the 2013 season, please call Dan Hillberg at: (714) 719-0295.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

Ventura Main Event Results (with starting positions): 1. Steve Limon (4th), Tom Downing (2nd), 3. Dan Hillberg (7th), 4. Alexander Bissett (5th), 5. Guy Maresch (3rd), 6. Zach Zauss (6th), 7. Damon Arnett (13th), 8. Dale Gamer (10th), 9. Jon Squire (1st), 10. Donna Kotlinski (9th), 11. Bobby Michnowicz (8th), 12. Mike Kotlinski (11th), 13. Ronnie Hancock (14th), 14. Jeff Dyer (12th)

2013 10 in California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points 

Steve Limon Corona 556 
Dan Hillberg Placentia 547 
Tom Downing Lakewood 488 
Guy Maresch Anaheim Hills 460 
Alexander Bissett Hemet 456 
Zach Zauss Murrieta 455 
Ronnie Hancock San Clemente 454 
Dale Gamer - Anaheim 429 
Damon Arnett San Diego 398 
Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 389 

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule 
March 9 Perris Auto Speedway Winged Dan Hillberg
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged King of California Mini Sprint Challenge Bobby Michnowicz
March 30 Ventura Raceway Winged Steve Limon
April 13 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway Non Wing King of California Mini Sprint Challenge
April 27 Orange Show Speedway Winged
May 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged King of California Mini Sprint Challenge
May 25 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
June 1 Orange Show Speedway Non Wing
July 4 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
July 27 Route 66 Motorplex Winged
August 10 Santa Maria Speedway Winged
August 17 Perris Auto Speedway Winged 
September 14 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 28 Bakersfield Speedway Winged
October 19 Ventura Raceway Winged
November 2 Perris Auto Speedway Winged 
November 3 Perris Auto Speedway Winged 

1994 Tony Everhart 
1995 Gary Sexton 
1996 Rob Sczymczak 
1997 Jon Rahe 
1998 Chris Rahe 
1999 Brent Sexton 
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg 
2002 Greg Bragg 
2003 David Cardey 
2004 Keith Janca 
2005 Johnny Bates 
2006 Donny Gansen 
2007 Shane Rossen
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer 
2011 Tim Brown 
2012 Bobby Michnowicz 

This press release was ppoduced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768