California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Placentia, CA, April 30, 2013)
Bobby Michnowicz became the first repeat winner of 2013 in the California Lightning Sprint Car Series when he won the 20-lap main event at the “Doc” Griffin Memorial at the grand-re-opening of the Orange Show Stadium in San Bernardino last Saturday night.

Michnowicz, who also has a win at the Bakersfield Speedway this season, started on the outside of the second row on the newly clayed over racetrack. After a yellow flag canceled the original start, Michnowicz found himself in third on the second try to get the main underway. Lakewood’s Tom Downing, who started on the pole, and James Squire III of Lakeside were the first to reach turn one on the quarter-mile oval.

Squire, who started on the outside of the front row, made his bid for the lead using the outside of turn four on lap one. However, he slid up into the loose stuff and it cost him as he bobbled and handed the runner up spot to 2012 series champ Michnowicz.

Michnowicz realized the fast way around the track was the bottom and he used that line to relieve Downing of the lead coming off of turn two. Once out front the Lomita based driver put distance between himself and a spirited battle for second that included brothers Dan & Darren Hillberg, of Placentia and Corona respectively, Downing and Hemet teenager Alex Bissett.

Michnowicz’ lead looked secure, but Dan Hillberg, who raced with the USRC Midgets on the Orange Show pavement in the 1970s, began to reel the leader in as they worked lapped traffic. Hillberg at one point closed to within a car length of the leader in traffic, but once they found clear sailing ahead, Michnowicz put about five car lengths between himself and Hillberg’s red #10.

As soon as Michnowicz and Hillberg took the white signaling one lap to go, Squire flipped on the back straight bringing out the red flag. Squire was uninjured and when the race restarted, Hillberg was directly on the leader’s tail. It was going to be a green, then a white and a checkered to finish the event. As the green flag flew, Michnowicz used the open territory in front of him to his advantage and raced away for a six car length advantage that he carried to the historic first CLS checkered flag at the new Orange Show Stadium. Dan Hillberg was second with hard driving Bissett third. Point leader Steve Limon of Corona, who came all the way from 14th to earn the Hard Charger Award, and Darren Hillberg took fourth and fifth.

Helendale’s Jeff Dyer etched his name in the history books when he out qualified 17 other cars with a lap of 14:494. Michnowicz, Bissett and Dan Hillberg won the three heat races earlier in the night.

Limon continues to lead the point standings heading into the next race at Bakersfield on May 11th. Dan Hillberg, who came into the night 41 points behind, gained 15 points on the leader with his second place finish. Michnowicz gained one spot in the standings and his now third. Downing sits fourth in the championship chase with Bissett fifth.

The CLS takes this Saturday night off before heading to the Bakersfield
Speedway on May 11th. It will be round seven of the regular CLS season and third and final round of the “King of California Mini Sprint Challenge.”

For 2013, cars in the CLS will be carrying transponders and they will qualify at all events. The driver with the most fast qualifying times at the end of the season will win the “Cold Fire West Qualifying Championship” and will pocket an extra $500.00. Another new sponsor to the series this season is Extreme Muffler. They will sponsor the “Extreme Muffler Heat Race Championship” and the driver with the most heat race wins will collect a $500.00 check.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank series sponsors Christian Stover Foundation, Rod End Supply, Cold Fire West, Sander Engineering, Saldana Race Products, DK Machining and Fabrication, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Circle Track Performance, Extreme Muffler, Performance by Rosson Racing, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Oil Twins Amsoil and Haul Ass Fuel. If you or your company would like to become part of the California Lightning Series for the 2013 season, please call Dan Hillberg at: (714) 719-0295.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

Bakersfield Speedway Main Event Results (with starting positions): 1. Bobby Michnowicz (4th), 2. Dan Hillberg (8th), 3. Alex Bissett (7th), 4. Stephen Limon (14th), 5. Darren Hillberg (6th), 6. Alex Grigoreas (9th), 7. Jeff Dyer (10th), 8. Damon Arnett (5th), 9. Guy Maresch (13th), 10. Zach Zauss (11th). 11. Tom Downing (1st), 12. Jon Squire (3rd), 13. James Squire III (2nd), 14. Donna Kotlinski (15th), 15. John Simms (16th), 16. Dale Gamer (12th)

2013 10 in California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points
1. Steve Limon – Corona – 1008
2. Dan Hillberg – Placentia – 977
3. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita – 878
4. Tom Downing – Lakewood – 844
5. Alex Bissett – Hemet – 837
6. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills – 825
7. Zach Zauss – Murrieta - 809
8. Damon Arnett – San Diego – 758
9. Dale Gamer - Anaheim – 741
10. Jeff Dyer – Helendale – 661

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 9 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Dan Hillberg
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
March 30 Ventura Raceway Winged – Steve Limon
April 13 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Jarrett Kramer
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway Non Wing – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Doug Nunes
April 27 Orange Show Speedway Winged – Bobby Michnowicz
May 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge
May 25 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
June 1 Orange Show Speedway Non Wing
July 4 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
July 27 Route 66 Motorplex Winged
August 10 Santa Maria Speedway Winged
August 17 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 14 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 28 Bakersfield Speedway Winged
October 19 Ventura Raceway Winged
November 2 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
November 3 Perris Auto Speedway Winged

1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Gansen
2007 Shane Rossen
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer
2011 Tim Brown
2012 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768