California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Placentia, CA, May 15, 2013) Veteran racer Bobby Michnowicz captured the California Lightning Sprint Car Series main event at Scott Schweitzer’s Bakersfield Speedway last Saturday night. In doing so, the Lomita veteran sewed up the three-race “King of California Mini Sprint Challenge” championship. The win was Michnowicz second in the three race series and it allowed him to beat Northern Californian Craig Dillard by 48-points to claim the title.

Michnowicz won the main event after starting on the inside of the second row. Northern California stars Scott Kinney, of Sacramento, and Doug Nunes, who won the April 20th race at Bakersfield, finished second and third respectively in the main event. CLS regular Darren Hillberg of Corona took fourth followed by Jeff Dyer in fifth.

Dillard, who came into the night second in the “Mini Sprint Challenge” 22-points behind Michnowicz, started ninth in the main, but could only get up to seventh at the “West’s Fastest 1/3 of a Mile High Banked Clay Oval.”

Michnowicz’ win was his third overall CLS victory in 2013. Thus far, he is the only driver with more than one win this year.

Hemet’s Alex Bissett picked up an extra $100.00 for being the main event “Hard Charger” by coming from his 20th place starting position to finish 11th.

Michnowicz, Dillard and Nunes, who lives in Kingsbourg, won the heat races earlier in the night. Bissett won the B Main.

Placentia’s Dan Hillberg was fast qualifier in the 24-car field with a sizzling lap of 13:410. Combined with his wingless lap time of 14:269 on April 20th, he won the $500.00 first prize in the “Qualifying Challenge” sponsored by Cold Fire West, Inland Empire Performance, Superior Machining, Damon’s Home Services, and T-Shirts by Timeless.

Corona’s Steve Limon, who had led the championship standings all season long, finished 14th in the main and relinquished the point lead to Dan Hillberg. Heading into the annual “Salute to Indy” at the CLS home track, Perris Auto Speedway, on May 25th, Hillberg has a 12-point lead over Limon. Defending CLS champ Michnowicz is third, 95 points behind the leader. Bissett is fourth in the standings. Anaheim Hills racer Guy Maresch, who lead the standings most of 2012, moved up to fifth in the 2013 title chase.

Saturday’s race was the CLS third in the first two months of the season at Bakersfield. They return one last time on September 28th.

For 2013, cars in the CLS will be carrying transponders and they will qualify at all events. The driver with the most fast qualifying times at the end of the season will win the “Cold Fire West Qualifying Championship” and will pocket an extra $500.00. Another new sponsor to the series this season is Extreme Muffler. They will sponsor the “Extreme Muffler Heat Race Championship” and the driver with the most heat race wins will collect a $500.00 check.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank series sponsors Christian Stover Foundation, Rod End Supply, Cold Fire West, Sander Engineering, Saldana Race Products, DK Machining and Fabrication, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Circle Track Performance, Extreme Muffler, Performance by Rosson Racing, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Oil Twins Amsoil and Haul Ass Fuel. If you or your company would like to become part of the California Lightning Series for the 2013 season, please call Dan Hillberg at: (714) 719-0295.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

Bakersfield Main Event (with starting spots) 1. Bobby Michnowicz (3rd), 2. Scott Kinney (7th), 3. Doug Nunes (5th), 4. Darren Hillberg (2nd), 5. Jeff Dyer (6th), 6. Dan Hillberg (10th), 7. Craig Dillard (9th), 8. Brian Corso (13th), 9. Bradley Dillard (1st), 10. Guy Maresch (11th), 11. Alex Bissett (20th), 12. Alex Grigoreas (4th), 13. Dakota Albright (18th), 14. Steve Limon (8th), 15. Tom Downing (12th), 16. Hunter Kinney (16th), 17. Dale Gamer (17th), 18. Stuart Goehring (19th), 19. Billy Lawless (14th), 20. Damon Arnett (15th)

2013 10 in California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points
1. Dan Hillberg – Placentia – 1173
2. Steve Limon - Corona – 1161
3. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita – 1078
4. Alex Bissett - Hemet – 998
5. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills – 995
6. Tom Downing - Lakewood – 991
7. Zach Zauss - Murrieta - 928
8. Damon Arnett – San Diego – 891
9. Dale Gamer – Anaheim – 880
10. Jeff Dyer – Silver Lake – 856

Final 2013 King of California Mini Sprint Challenge Top 10 in Points
1. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 442
2. Craig Dillard – 396
3. Dan Hillberg – Placentia – 378
4. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg – 377
5. Brian Corso – Ripon – 359
6. Steve Limon - Corona – 355
7. Jeff Dyer – Silver Lake – 320
8. Tom Downing - Lakewood – 315
9. Dakota Albright - Turlock – 309
10. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills - 291

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 9 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Dan Hillberg
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
March 30 Ventura Raceway Winged – Steve Limon
April 13 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Jarrett Kramer
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway Non Wing – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Doug Nunes
April 27 Orange Show Speedway Winged – Bobby Michnowicz
May 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
May 25 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
June 1 Orange Show Speedway Non Wing
July 4 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
July 27 Route 66 Motorplex Winged
August 10 Santa Maria Speedway Winged
August 17 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 14 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 28 Bakersfield Speedway Winged
October 19 Ventura Raceway Winged
November 2 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
November 3 Perris Auto Speedway Winged

1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Gansen
2007 Shane Rossen
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer
2011 Tim Brown
2012 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768