California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Placentia, CA, July 2, 2013) The see-saw battle for the 2013 California Lightning Sprint Car championship continued last Saturday night at the Macro Air Orange Show Stadium when third year Corona, California racer won the main event and reclaimed the point lead from Placentia veteran Dan Hillberg.

The newly married Limon took the point lead at the season opener and held down the top spot for seven races. Hillberg grabbed the lead at the May 11th race at Bakersfield and led by 12-points. Limon whittled Hillberg’s lead down to 3-points at the Memorial Day weekend event at Perris Auto Speedway and after the series took a five week layoff, Limon reclaimed the lead with a dazzling performance last Saturday Orange Show. He now leads Hillberg by 6-points heading in this Thursday’s race at Perris Auto Speedway.

The war between the two CLS stars on the National Orange Showgrounds started early in the night during qualifying when Limon posted the fast time and established a new track record with a lap 14:291. Hillberg was second quick with a time of 14:736 on the newly clayed over -mile oval and Jeffrey Dyer of Silver Lake was third when he toured the fabled track in 14:772.

Limon’s only defeat on the night came when he took second in the first heat race behind Lakewood’s Tom Downing. The Lomita father and son team of Bobby and Kevin Michnowicz won the other two heat races.

After a yellow slowed the first attempt to start the 25-lap main event, Lakeside veteran Jim Squire III put his #54 into the point position on the restart ahead of Anaheim’s Dale Gamer and Zach Zauss of Murrieta. Downing penetrated the top three when he got by Zauss on the second lap for the third spot.

Limon, who started eighth, was steaming his way to the front early on with Hillberg right behind him. The United States Army veteran was fifth at the end of the second lap and passed San Diego’s Damon Arnett for fourth on the third lap. Hillberg also got past Arnett on the third lap to break into the top five.

Limon was clearly the fastest car on the track and he relegated Downing to fourth at the start of lap six. One circuit later he did the same to Gamer and set his sights on Squire who had built up a comfortable advantage in the top spot. Limon’s #4x quickly closed in on Squire and he wrestled the lead away when they hit lapped traffic off of turn two on the ninth lap.

Once he took the lead, the only thing that was going to hinder Limon was lapped traffic or yellow flags. Downing and Hillberg were second and third when the yellow waved with three circuits remaining, but when the action resumed, Limon quickly sped away for his second win of the 2013 season. Hillberg crossed the line a half straight back in second and was chased by Downing, the returning Ronnie Hancock of San Clemente and Squire.

Hancock’s ten place advancement in the main event made him the “Hard Charger” of the race.

Behind Limon and Hillberg in the championship standings, Downing is third with Bobby Michnowicz fourth and Guy Maresch of Anaheim Hills is fifth.

The teams of the CLS have little time off as round ten of the 2013 series is this Thursday, July 4th, at “The Southern California Home of Major League Sprint Car Racing,” Perris Auto Speedway. Joining the CLS on the program will be the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Cars, PAS Senior Sprint Cars and The PAS Young Gun Sprint Cars. Also on tap will be the biggest and best fireworks show in Riverside County. Spectator gates will open at 3:00 and there will be an on track autograph session, games for the kids with the drivers and live music. Racing will start at 6:30.

For 2013, cars in the CLS will be carrying transponders and they will qualify at all events. The driver with the most fast qualifying times at the end of the season will win the “Cold Fire West Qualifying Championship” and will pocket an extra $500.00. Another new sponsor to the series this season is Extreme Muffler. They will sponsor the “Extreme Muffler Heat Race Championship” and the driver with the most heat race wins will collect a $500.00 check.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank series sponsors Christian Stover Foundation, Rod End Supply, Cold Fire West, Sander Engineering, Saldana Race Products, DK Machining and Fabrication, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Circle Track Performance, Extreme Muffler, Performance by Rosson Racing, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Oil Twins Amsoil and Haul Ass Fuel. If you or your company would like to become part of the California Lightning Series for the 2013 season, please call Dan Hillberg at: (714) 719-0295.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

Macro Air Orange Show Stadium Main Event (with starting positions): 1. Stephen Limon (8th), 2. Dan Hillberg (9th), 3. Tom Downing (5th), 4. Ronnie Hancock (14th), 5. Jim Squire III (1st), 6. Damon Arnett (7th), 7. Jeffrey Dyer (6th), 8. Dale Gamer (2nd), 9. Robert Wilhelm (16th), 10. Chris Hoffman (15th), 11. Darren Hillberg (4th), 12. Alex Grigoreas (10th), 13. Kevin Michnowicz (11th), 14. Zach Zauss (3rd), 15. Jon Squire (12th), 16. Donna Kotlinski (13th)

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points
1. Steve Limon - Corona – 1519
2. Dan Hillberg – Placentia - 1513
3. Tom Downing - Lakewood – 1302
4. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita – 1198
5. Guy Maresch - Anaheim – 1190
6. Damon Arnett – San Diego – 1175
7. Zach Zauss - Murrieta - 1172
8. Jeff Dyer – Silver Lake – 1150
9. Dale Gamer - Anaheim – 1125
10. Alex Bissett - Hemet – 1060

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 9 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Dan Hillberg
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
March 30 Ventura Raceway Winged – Steve Limon
April 13 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Jarrett Kramer
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway Non Wing – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Doug Nunes
April 27 Orange Show Stadium Winged – Bobby Michnowicz
May 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
May 25 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Kevin Michnowicz
June 29 Orange Show Stadium Winged – Steve Limon
July 4 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
July 27 Route 66 Motorplex Winged
August 10 Santa Maria Speedway Winged
August 17 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 14 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 28 Bakersfield Speedway Winged
October 19 Ventura Raceway Winged
November 2 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
November 3 Perris Auto Speedway Winged

1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Gansen
2007 Shane Rossen
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer
2011 Tim Brown
2012 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768