California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Placentia, CA, August 14, 2013) For the second year in a row at Santa Maria Speedway, Northern California star Doug Nunes took on and beat the stars and cars of the California Lightning Sprint Car Series last Saturday night. This Saturday, August 17th, the CLS will be back on its home track, Perris Auto Speedway, at the “California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night.” The USAC/CRA Sprint Cars, PAS Senior Sprints and the PAS Young Gun Sprint Cars will join the CLS on the all open-wheel program. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and racing will commence at 7:00.

There is no way in the world Nunes had it easy in this one as he did not take a qualifying lap and started 14th in the 15 car field for the 20-lap main event. In posting the win, the 37-year-old Kingsburg, California “Hard Charger” had to pass all of the CLS top drivers. Lomita’s Bobby Michnowicz, who leads the CLS with four main event wins thus far in 2013, finished 2nd followed by Placentia’s Dan Hillberg, series point leader Stephen Limon of Corona and Darren Hillberg who also resides in Corona.

In addition to winning the main, Nunes clocked the fastest lap of the race on lap 12 when he turned a 13.888 (85.541 MPH). That lap would have been second quick in qualifying behind fast timer Michnowicz’ lap of 13.734. Incidentally, both of those laps were faster than the fastest qualifier in the USAC/CRA Series!

The 15-car field was split into two heat races with Limon and Michnowicz posting the wins.

Limon came into the event with an 18-point lead over Dan Hillberg in the championship standings. Things started out bright enough for the 2011 CLS Rookie of the Year when he qualified second fast and won his heat race from last. Things were looking good in the main as well, but problems set in when Limon ran over the wheel of another car while running second. His car became airborne and when he came down he bent the front axle and steering rod and put a hole in his left front tire. After losing a couple positions on the restart Limon came back to battle for third only to be hit and knocked to the back with three laps to go before charging back to finish fourth. He heads into Perris 25-points ahead of Hillberg. Lakewood’s Tom Downing, Michnowicz and San Diego’s Damon Arnett occupy positions three through five.

The first four races at Perris this season have produced different winners. Dan Hillberg, Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer, Michnowicz and his teenage son Kevin.

For 2013, cars in the CLS will be carrying transponders and they will qualify at all events. The driver with the most fast qualifying times at the end of the season will win the “Cold Fire West Qualifying Championship” and will pocket an extra $500.00. Another new sponsor to the series this season is Extreme Muffler. They will sponsor the “Extreme Muffler Heat Race Championship” and the driver with the most heat race wins will collect a $500.00 check.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank series sponsors Christian Stover Foundation, Rod End Supply, Cold Fire West, Sander Engineering, Saldana Race Products, DK Machining and Fabrication, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, Hoosier Racing Tires, Circle Track Performance, Extreme Muffler, Performance by Rosson Racing, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Oil Twins Amsoil and Haul Ass Fuel. If you or your company would like to become part of the California Lightning Series for the 2013 season, please call Dan Hillberg at: (714) 719-0295.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

Santa Maria Main Event (with finishing positions): 1. Doug Nunes (14th), 2. Bobby Michnowicz (8th), 3. Dan Hillberg (5th), 4. Stephen Limon (7th), 5. Darren Hillberg (4th), 6. Damon Arnett (10th), 7. Tom Downing (2nd), 8. Zach Zauss (3rd), 9. Chris Hoffman (15th), 10. Dale Gamer (11th), 11. Scott Critchley (13th), 12. James McCarthey (1st), 13. Guy Maresch (12th0, 14. Jeff Dyer (6th), 15. Ronnie Hancock (9th)

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points
1. Steve Limon - Corona – 1866
2. Dan Hillberg – Placentia - 1841
3. Tom Downing - Lakewood – 1586
4. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita – 1533
5. Damon Arnett – San Diego – 1458
6. Zach Zauss - Murrieta – 1438
7. Guy Maresch – Anaheim Hills - 1422
8. Jeff Dyer – Silver Lake – 1372
9. Dale Gamer - Anaheim – 1365
10. Darren Hillberg – Corona - 1085

2013 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 9 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Dan Hillberg
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
March 30 Ventura Raceway Winged – Steve Limon
April 13 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Jarrett Kramer
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway Non Wing – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Doug Nunes
April 27 Orange Show Stadium Winged – Bobby Michnowicz
May 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – King of California Mini Sprint Challenge – Bobby Michnowicz
May 25 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Kevin Michnowicz
June 29 Orange Show Stadium Winged – Steve Limon
July 4 Perris Auto Speedway Winged – Bobby Michnowicz
August 10 Santa Maria Speedway Winged – Doug Nunes
August 17 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 14 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
September 28 Bakersfield Speedway Winged
October 19 Ventura Raceway Winged
November 2 Perris Auto Speedway Winged
November 3 Perris Auto Speedway Winged

1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Gansen
2007 Shane Rossen
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer
2011 Tim Brown
2012 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768