California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, May 23, 2017) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will make its first of two 2017 appearances at the “Southern California Home of Major League Sprint Car Racing,” Perris Auto Speedway, this Saturday night for the annual “Salute to Indy.” The USAC/CRA Sprint Cars and The PAS Senior and Young Gun Sprints will also be on the four-division card. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and the first race will begin at 7:00.

Saturday’s race will be the seventh of the season for the CLS and the second under the USAC banner. Through the first six races, four different drivers have stood on the victory podium. 2010 CLS champ and current series point leader Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley and four-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita sit on top of the winner chart with two victories each. Chris Dickey of Temecula and Zach Keefe of Arlington, Washington each have a single CLS win to their credit in 2017.

#14 Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley, the current CLS points leader, and #21 Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita have two wins each in 2017. Please give photo credit to Mickey Dale.

Kramer, who turned 35 in April, had a rough time when the CLS ventured to Northern California three weeks ago for a pair of races. He finished 22nd the first night at Chico and 11th the next night at Placerville. That allowed 2017 CLS “Rookie of the Year” and new San Diego State University graduate Cody Nigh of Camarillo to chop Kramer’s advantage in the championship standings to a mere 15 points heading into Saturday’s race. Third spot in the championship chase is another series sophomore, Lakewood’s Aiden Lange, who just celebrated his 15th birthday on Monday. Michnowicz, who missed a race earlier in the season at Bakersfield, is fourth and trails Lange by 1-point. Rounding out the top five is another second-year teenage racer, Eric Greco of Palmdale.

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the SoCal Fair and Event Center at 18700 Lake Perris Drive, Perris, CA 91740. Advance tickets for Saturday’s race are available online at: For those who do not wish to buy advance tickets, there will be plenty available for everyone at the ticket window on Saturday.

The stars and cars of the CLS will have little time to rest after Saturday’s race at The PAS. A week from Saturday they will make the trek up to the beautiful ocean side Ventura Raceway for the first time in 2017. A previous trip scheduled for April 8th at Ventura was canceled due to rain.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 688
2. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 673
3. Aiden Lange – Lakewood – 625
4. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 624
5. Eric Greco – Palmdale - 547
6. Brent Sexton - Lakeside – 545
7. Chris Dickey – Murrieta - 501
8. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood - 459
8. Jeff Dyer - Bermuda Dunes- 439
10. Craig Dillard – Oakdale – 380

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Chris Dickey
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Zach Keefe
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768