California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, November 13, 2017) The USAC California Lightning Sprint Car Series will close the 2017 season with its biggest race of the year, the “USAC Western States Lightning Sprints Championship” this Saturday night, November 18th, at the Bakersfield Speedway. Joining the CLS will be the USAC National & Western Midgets, Hobby Stocks and Mini Stocks. Spectator gates will open at 4:00 P.M. with the first race at 6:00.

CLS officials are expecting the biggest field of 2017 to be on hand for what may be the biggest Lightning Sprint Car race ever staged in the “Golden State.” In addition to the CLS regulars, 7-10 cars are expected from Northern California’s BCRA. In addition, Bloomington, Indiana’s Andy Bradley, who is second in the National Championship standings, will make his California debut in a car owned by four-time CLS champion Bobby Michnowicz.

Michnowicz, who is seeking his fourth in a row and fifth overall CLS title, brings a 58-point advantage over Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer into Saturday’s finale. Second year CLS star Aiden Lange of Lakewood, the only other driver with a mathematical chance of catching Michnowicz, is third and trails the leader by 75-points. 2016 “Rookie of the Year” Cody Nigh of Camarillo and rookie Dominic Del Monte of Gardena, round out the top five.

Fans can expect three abreast action from the California Lightning Sprint Cars in the season finale this Saturday at the Bakersfield Speedway. Please give photo credit to Vane Ledgerwood.

In the first four races at Bakersfield this year, Michnowicz has two wins, while Kramer and Madera’s Charlie Caracillo have one win each. Overall Michnowicz, has won eight of the first 17 main events on the circuit in 2017. Kramer, Caracillo and now Indiana based Chris Dickey, who all have two wins each, are the only other drivers with more than one victory in 2017.

Fans wishing to attend Saturday’s season finale can find the Bakersfield Speedway at 5001 N. Chester Ext. in Bakersfield (93308). The track website is available at the following link: and the office phone number is: (661) 393-3373.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2018 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings
1. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 1951
2. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 1893
3. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1876
4. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1728
5. Dominic Del Monte - Gardena - 1381
6. Eric Greco - Palmdale – 1352
7. Brent Sexton - Lakewood - 1263
8. Chris Dickey - Murrieta - 1247
9. Pat Kelley – Chino – 1208
10. Jon Robertson – Torrance - 1191

2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer
March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer
April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Chris Dickey
May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Zach Keefe
May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – A.J. Bender
June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo
June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National - Chris Dickey
July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Charlie Caraccilo
August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
August 26: Perris Auto Speedway– USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA – Bobby Michnowicz
October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Bruce Douglass
November 18: Bakersfield Speedway – Western States Lightning Championship USAC National
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768