California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, August 12) The USAC/California Lightning Sprint Car Series will begin the second half of its championship season this Saturday night, August 18th, at the “California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night” at Perris Auto Speedway. The race will be the second and final appearance of the CLS for 2018 on the famous Riverside County half-mile clay oval.

Saturday’s race will be the tenth of the campaign for the club that is celebrating its silver anniversary season this year. Going into the event, 2010 CLS champion Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley brings a 168-point lead over Lakewood teenager Aiden Lange in the standings. Camarillo’s Cody Nigh, two-time champ Brent Sexton of Lakeside and Gardena’s Dominic Del Monte round out the top five.

Through the series first nine races, Lange sits on top of the victory ledger with three wins on the year. Five-time series champ Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita has two wins. Kramer, Nigh, Ventura’s Bruce Douglass and Doug Nunes of Kingsburg have one win each.

Michnowicz, who is seventh in points, won the CLS last race at Ventura on August 1st. Last Saturday night he ventured north and won the Bay Cities Racing Association “Wayne Albright Memorial” at the Merced Raceway.

The last time the CLS visited The PAS on Memorial Day weekend, Kramer won the main event in front of Lange and Del Monte.

Jarrett Kramer taking the main event checkered flag when the CLS was at The PAS on Memorial Day weekend. Please give photo credit to Doug Allen.

In addition to the CLS, Saturday’s show at The PAS will feature the USAC/CRA Sprint Cars and The PAS Senior and Young Gun Sprints. Also, a gathering of many retired stars will convene in the track sports bar to meet and sign autographs for fans. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 P.M. with racing at 7:00.

Fans wishing to attend Saturday’s race in Perris can find the track at 18700 Lake Perris Drive (92571). The track phone number is (951) 940-0134 and the website is

After Saturday’s race, the CLS stars will have little time to rest as they will head to the Barona Speedway for the second time this year on August 25th.

2018 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA - 1128
2. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 960
3. Cody Nigh – Camarillo, CA – 930
4. Brent Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 927
5. Dominic Del Monte - Gardena, CA – 908
6. Pat Kelley - Chino, CA – 845
7. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 829
8. Eric Greco - Palmdale, CA – 779
9. Jeffrey Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA – 730
10. Grant Sexton – Lakeside, CA – 680

2018 Civil War Standings (CLS vs BCRA)
1. Jarrett Kramer – CLS – 227
2. Cody Nigh – CLS – 214
3. Kiwi Alexander – BCRA – 199
4. Doug Nunes – CLS – 192
5. Dominic Del Monte – CLS – 175
6. Bobby Michnowicz – CLS – 174
7. Scott Kinney – BCRA – 156
8. Eric Greco – CLS – 155
8. Dan Hillberg – CLS – 155
10. Aiden Lange – CLS - 149

March 17 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Rained Out
March 24 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 14 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
April 21 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
May 5 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
May 19th – Barona Speedway – Jim Squire Memorial – Cody Nigh
May 26 – Perris Auto Speedway – USAC National – Salute to Indy – Jarrett Kramer
June 16 – Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA – Bruce Douglass
July 7 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
July 21 – Santa Maria Raceway – Civil War vs BCRA – Doug Nunes
August 1 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Ventura County Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
August 18 – Perris Auto Speedway – USAC National – California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night
August 25 – Barona Speedway
September 8 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National
September 21 – Placerville Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA
September 22 – Placerville Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA
October 6 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
October 20 – Barona Speedway
October 27 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
November 17- Bakersfield Speedway USAC National with USAC National and Western Midgets

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its historic 25th season in 2018, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at


1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768