California Lightning Sprints

Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, October 2)
The USAC/California Lightning Sprint Car Series returns to action this Saturday night, October 6th, on its home track, the Ventura Raceway. Joining the CLS on Saturday will be the VRA Sprint Cars, Dwarf Cars, Hobby Stocks and the Focus Midgets. Spectator gates at the track that is located adjacent to the beach in Ventura will open at 3:00 P.M. and the first race will be at 5:30.

Including Saturday’s show at the “Commotion by the Ocean,” the CLS only has four races left in its silver anniversary season. 2010 series champ Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley is closing in on his second title and leads the newly crowned “Civil War” champion Cody Nigh of Camarillo by 213-points. Veteran Brent Sexton of Lakeside, a two-time series champ, is third. Gardena’s Dominic Del Monte is fourth, but five-time champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita is only two-points behind and breathing down his neck.

Teenager Aiden Lange has two wins at Ventura this year. Please give photo credit to Doug Allen.

In the first four races at Ventura this year, Michnowicz and Lakewood's Aiden Lange each have two wins.

Saturday’s race will be the 15th of the year for the CLS. Thus far, eight different drivers have posted victories. Michnowicz and Lange have three triumphs each. Kramer, who has won two times, is the only other driver with more than one first-place finish. Nigh, Bruce Douglass of Bakersfield, Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes, A.J. Bender of San Diego and Snohomish, Washington’s Seth Hespe have one win each.

The Ventura Raceway is conveniently located just off the 101 on the Ventura County Fairgrounds. The track address is 10 West Harbor Boulevard (93001). The track’s website is at the following link The office phone number is (805) 648- RACE.

2018 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Point Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA - 1738
2. Cody Nigh - Camarillo – 1525
3. Brent Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 1430
4. Dominic Del Monte - Gardena, CA – 1366
5. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 1364
6. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 1292
7. Eric Greco - Palmdale, CA – 1278
8. Pat Kelley - Chino, CA – 1136
9. Grant Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 1059
10. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA – 952

March 17 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Rained Out
March 24 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out
April 14 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz
April 21 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
May 5 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
May 19th – Barona Speedway – Jim Squire Memorial – Cody Nigh
May 26 – Perris Auto Speedway – USAC National – Salute to Indy – Jarrett Kramer
June 16 – Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA – Bruce Douglass
July 7 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Aiden Lange
July 21 – Santa Maria Raceway – Civil War vs BCRA – Doug Nunes
August 1 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Ventura County Fair – Bobby Michnowicz
August 18 – Perris Auto Speedway – USAC National – California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night – Jarrett Kramer
August 25 – Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz
September 8 – Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – A.J. Bender
September 21 – Placerville Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA – Seth Hespe
September 22 – Placerville Speedway – Civil War vs BCRA – Doug Nunes
October 6 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
October 20 – Barona Speedway -
October 27 – Ventura Raceway – USAC National
November 17- Bakersfield Speedway USAC National with USAC National and Western Midgets

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display. If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its historic 25th season in 2018, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768