Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, March 12, 2019) The Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Car Series will kick off its 26th consecutive season this Saturday night, March 16th, at “The West’s Fastest 1/3 Mile High Banked Clay Oval,” the Bakersfield Speedway. The race will be the first under the POWRi banner for the CLS. Joining the CLS on the quadruple header will be the USAC West Coast Sprint Cars, IMCA Stock Cars and the American Stocks. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 P.M. and the first race will be at 7:00.

In addition to being the first race on the season long 17-race schedule for the CLS, it will be the first of five at the track affectionately known as the “Okie Bowl” in 2019. The series will close the season on the same Bakersfield oval on November 23rd.

Jarrett Kramer comes into the event as the defending series champion and the Spring Valley based veteran will be looking for his third CLS title. Other past champions competing in 2019 will be five-time champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita and two-time titlist Brent Sexton of Lakeside.

The three past champions could have their hands more than full this year with a savvy group of teenage drivers who have been snapping at the veterans heels the past two seasons. Included in the group are Aiden Lange of Lakewood, Dominic Del Monte of Gardena, Eric Greco of Palmdale, 2018 Rookie of the Year Grant Sexton and his older sibling Dalton of Lakeside, Ramona’s Kyle Dodd and Indio’s James Turnbull.

Along with the past champions and young chargers, other series regulars expected to be on hand on Saturday include 2018 “Civil War” titlist Cody Nigh of Camarillo, USAC/CRA Series regular A.J. Bender of San Diego, Dale Gamer of Anaheim, Chino veteran Pat Kelley, CHP officer Jeff Dyer of Bermuda Dunes, “Rock Star” Jon Robertson of Torrance, Bakersfield local Wink Schweitzer, Frank Ditmar of Lakewood and Ventura’s Bruce Douglass.

In four races at Bakersfield in 2018, four different drivers - Lange, Bender, Douglass and Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes – posted main event wins.

Fans who would like to attend Saturday’s race in Bakersfield can find the track at 5001 N. Chester Ext., in Bakersfield (93308). The track website is http://www.bakersfieldspeedway.com/ and the office phone number is (661) 393-3373.

After Saturday’s race in Kern County, the CLS will have little time to rest as it heads to its home track for the first time of the year on Saturday, March 23rd.

The Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2018 California Lightning Sprint Cars Series Final Point Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 2251
2. Cody Nigh - Camarillo – 1976
3. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 1873
4. Brent Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 1845
5. Dominic Del Monte - Gardena, CA – 1780
6. Aiden Lange – Lakewood, CA – 1694
7. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1682
8. Grant Sexton - Lakeside, CA – 1397
9. Pat Kelley - Chino, CA – 1385
10. Dale Gamer - Anaheim, CA – 1202

2019 Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Car Series

March 16 Bakersfield Speedway

March 23 Ventura Raceway

April 6 Barona Speedway

April 20 Bakersfield Speedway

May 4 Ventura Raceway

May 18 Barona Speedway

June 1 Ventura Raceway

June 15 Bakersfield Speedway

July 6 Ventura Raceway

July 27 Santa Maria Raceway

August 10 Barona Speedway

August 24 Ventura Raceway

September 7 Ventura Raceway

September 21 Bakersfield Speedway

October 5 Ventura Raceway

October 26 Ventura Raceway

November 17 Bakersfield Speedway

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com