Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, April 2, 2019) This Saturday night when the Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Series hits the Barona Speedway for round #3 of the championship season, it will have an added addition to the driver roster. NASCAR Truck Series regular Sheldon Creed, who grew up in nearby El Cajon, California, will be driving a car owned by Sexton/Gatlin Racing.

Pat Kelley on the inside and Stan Sexton in some tight CLS action. Pit Princess Photo.

Creed, 21, was the 2018 ARCA Stock Car Series champion and is now a regular in the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series driving for GMS Racing. In the first five races in the Truck Series this year he has a season-best finish of sixth at Las Vegas on March 1st. Last week he placed 22nd at the Texas Motor Speedway.

In addition to Creed’s ARCA title, he is an X-Games Gold Medalist in Stadium Trucks, a two-time Stadium Speed Energy Super Trucks Champion and has won five off-road championships. In addition, he is one of only three drivers to ever win two Lucas Oil Off-Road championships simultaneously.

Creed will be driving one of four cars entered by Lakeside’s Sexton/Gatlin Racing. He will be teammates with Brent Sexton and his two teenage sons, Grant and Dalton. Brent, a Tennessee native, is a two-time CLS champion and 14-year-old Grant was the Rookie of the Year in 2018. Dalton, age 16, sits the highest of the three Sextons in the 2019 point standings. Going into Saturday’s race at Barona, he is 11th.

A past competitor in the series, Creed will be entering a hornet’s nest as the 2019 CLS roster is the most talent-laden the club has seen in its 26-year history. On top of the heap is defending CLS champion Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley. The soon to be 37-year-old leads the championship standings and is coming off a thrilling photo finish victory two weeks ago at the Ventura Raceway.

Kramer brings a 21-point lead into the race over Lakewood’s Eric Greco. San Diego’s A.J. Bender, who was looking for a ride for Saturday as this piece went to press, is third in the standings and is only two points out of second. Five-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita and his nephew, Cody Nigh of Camarillo, round out the top five in the standings.

After an absence of a decade, the CLS returned to Barona in 2018 with three races. Nigh, Michnowicz and Gardena teenager Dominic Del Monte took the checkered flags at those events on the San Diego County dirt oval.

In addition to the CLS, the IMCA Modifieds, Street Stocks, Pony Stocks, Pure Stocks, Nomad Dwarfs, 360 Sprint Cars, So Cal Mowers, Mini Dwarfs and Junior Sprints will also be in action on Saturday. Gates open at noon and the first race will be at 5:00.

Fans who wish to attend can find the Barona Speedway at 1754 Wildcat Road in Lakeside (92040). The track website is https://baronaspeedway.com/ and the office phone number is (619) 749-8115.

The Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2019 Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Cars Series Point Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 271
2. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA - 250
3. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 248
4. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA - 240
5. Cody Nigh - Camarillo, CA - 214
6. Dog Nunes - Kingsburg, CA – 199
7. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA – 186
8. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 180
8. Pat Kelley - Chino, CA - 180
10. Dan Hillberg - Placentia, CA – 174

2019 Lucas Oil POWRi California Lightning Sprint Car Series

March 16 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

March 23 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

April 6 Barona Speedway

April 20 Bakersfield Speedway

May 4 Ventura Raceway

May 18 Barona Speedway

June 1 Ventura Raceway

June 15 Bakersfield Speedway

July 6 Ventura Raceway

July 27 Santa Maria Raceway

August 10 Barona Speedway

August 24 Ventura Raceway

September 7 Ventura Raceway

September 21 Bakersfield Speedway

October 5 Ventura Raceway

October 26 Ventura Raceway

November 17 Bakersfield Speedway

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer

Special thanks to Wendy Michnowicz.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com