Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us



(Torrance, CA, June 10, 2019) The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series heads to the Bakersfield Speedway for round #8 of its championship season this Saturday night, June 15th. The race will be the third of five for the CLS at the 1/3 of a mile Kern County clay oval in 2019.

Going into this week’s race, five-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz has the point lead for the second race in a row. The veteran driver holds a 21-point advantage over two-time and defending CLS champion Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley. Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes, Eric Greco of Palmdale and Camarillo’s Cody Nigh make up the remainder of the top five.

Through the first seven CLS races of the year, Michnowicz, Kramer and Nunes have been the only drivers to score main event wins. Going into the last race at the Ventura Raceway on June 1st, they each had a pair of victories. Kramer, 37, broke the deadlock that night when he notched his third triumph of the campaign.

In the previous two races at Bakersfield this year, Nunes and Michnowicz have emerged victorious. Forty-two-year-old Nunes won the season opener there on March 16th and 55-year-old Michnowicz took the trophy back to his Lomita home on April 20th.

Thus far in 2019, Michnowicz only has one finish out of the top five. That was a seventh at Ventura on May 4th. Kramer’s only finish out of the top three all year was a 20th at Barona. Nunes has only placed out of the top three two-times and both of those came at Ventura.

In addition to the CLS, the Western Pro Stocks, American Stocks, Mini Stocks and Outlaw Karts will also be in action. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 P.M. and the first race will take the green flag at 7:00. Fans who would like to attend can find the Bakersfield Speedway at 5001 N. Chester Ext., in Bakersfield (93308). The track website is http://www.bakersfieldspeedway.com/ and the office phone number is (661) 393-3373.

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Cars Series Point Standings
1. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 864
2. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA - 843
3. Doug Nunes - Kingsburg, CA 793
4. Eric Greco - Palmdale, CA - 760
5. Cody Nigh – Camarillo, CA - 709
6. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA - 669
6. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 669
8. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 663
9. Dalton Sexton - Lakeside, CA - 644
10. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 578

2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

March 23 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

April 6 Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes

April 20 Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

May 4 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

May 18 Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

June 1 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

June 15 Bakersfield Speedway

July 6 Ventura Raceway

July 27 Santa Maria Raceway

August 10 Barona Speedway

August 24 Ventura Raceway

September 7 Ventura Raceway

September 21 Bakersfield Speedway

October 5 Ventura Raceway

October 26 Ventura Raceway

November 17 Bakersfield Speedway

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com