Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, August 20, 2019) POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car driver Jarrett Kramer will return to what has been his own private playground in 2019, the Ventura Raceway, this Saturday night, August 24th. In the CLS first four appearances at the track this year, Kramer has won each time.

(the attached photo of nose to tail action from earlier in the year at Ventura is courtesy of Pit Princess Photography)

A two-time and defending series champion, Kramer, 36, of Spring Valley, has won four of the previous seven races including the last one at Barona two weeks ago. He also leads the series with five victories total. His wins, combined with only one finish out of the top three all year long, have allowed him to establish a comfortable lead in the championship standings with six races to go. Adding a favorable spin on his quest for a third title is the fact that four of those last six races are at Ventura.

Runner-up to Kramer at the present time is Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes. However, he has had 10th and 12th place finishes the last two races and now trails the leader by 123 points. Camarillo’s Cody Nigh has moved up to third in the title chase. Five-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita and Palmdale’s Eric Greco complete the top five. Third through fifth place are only separated by 40 points.

Another tight battle in the top ten is sixth through ninth. Drivers A.J. Bender of San Diego, CHP officer Jeff Dyer of Bermuda Dunes, Gardena’s Dominic Del Monte and Aiden Lange of Lakewood only have 67 points separating them. However, Bender may be done for the season after a nasty flip in qualifying at last Saturday’s USAC/CRA race at Perris. The affable driver suffered a spinal sprain and concussion in the tumble.

San Diego’s Jason Arnolde has a commanding 195-point lead over fellow San Diego County driver Stan Sexton in the “Rookie of the Year” standings.

Spectator gates at the “Best Little Dirt Track in America” will open at 3:00 P.M. on Saturday and the first race will be at 5:30. In addition to the California Lightning Sprints, the USAC West Coast 360 Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and NMRA Midgets will also be in action.:

Fans who would like to attend Saturday’s race in Ventura can find the track on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard (93001). The track website is http://venturaraceway.com/ and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1369
2. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg, CA – 1246
3. Cody Nigh - Camarillo, CA – 1159
4. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 1143
5. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1119
6. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 1086
7. Jeff Dyer – Bermuda Dunes, CA – 1078
8. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 1057
9. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 1019
10. Gage Cheek – Santa Clarita, CA - 852

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series

March 16 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

March 23 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

April 6 Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes

April 20 Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

May 4 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

May 18 Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

June 1 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

June 15 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes

July 6 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer

July 27 Santa Maria Raceway – Jeff Dyer

August 10 Barona Speedway – Jarrett Kramer

August 24 Ventura Raceway

September 7 Ventura Raceway

September 21 Bakersfield Speedway

October 5 Ventura Raceway

October 26 Ventura Raceway

November 17 Bakersfield Speedway

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com