Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, September 12, 2019)
Two-time POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series champion Jarrett Kramer took another step towards his third title when he beat the competition to the checkered flag at the Ventura Raceway last Saturday night. The victory was the fifth in six CLS races at the ocean side oval for the 36-year old veteran this year.

#1 Jarrett Kramer and "Rockstar Jon" Robertson at the Ventura Raceway. Pit Princess Photo.

Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes, who is chasing Kramer in the standings, started out the night by outqualifying the field with a lap of 11.898. Bakersfield local Wink Schweitzer was second quick with a time of 12.058. San Diego’s A.J. Bender, who was fast qualifier, a heat race winner and second-place finisher in the main the last time the CLS visited Ventura, was third fastest at 12.039.

Gardena teen Dominic Del Monte won the first eight-lap heat race and “Rockstar Jon Robertson of Torrance took the second one.

The CLS did something different at the show. Instead of the normal 25-lap main event, they contested a 30-lap main divided into two 15-lap segments. The way they finished the second segment would be the official finishing order for the night. The winner of the first 15-lapper would then draw the inversion number of two, four or six for the second portion of the race. The number he drew would be where he would start in the finale. Those who finished behind him in positions two through six would make up the remainder of the invert.

For the first 15-lapper, Del Monte started on the pole with fellow teen James Turnbull alongside. The race went green to checkers with Del Monte in the lead the entire distance. Nunes placed second with Turnbull, Lakewood’s Aiden Lange, Cody Nigh of Camarillo and Spring Valley’s Kramer rounding out the top six.

As soon as that race ended, Del Monte stopped on the front straight to pull the invert number. Much to his chagrin, he pulled a six which meant he would start outside the third row. Much to the mortification of all the competition, that meant Kramer would start on the pole at his best track.

As they lined up for the second segment, Kramer was salivating over his starting spot. However, the only other driver to win a CLS main event at Ventura this year, Nigh, was alongside. Lange and Turnbull made up the second row and they were followed by Nunes and Del Monte in row three.

Predictably, Kramer, in his Malicious Liquids/Anarchist Manufacturing/AK Hardparts/Reber Reber Inc./Finest City Dog Training/BK Wings/Guhl Motors/Victory Graphix/Kramer Brothers Racing/DLX/Kawasaki ZX10R #1, was the first to turn one with Nigh and Lange in tow. In a near carbon copy of the first race, the second 15 went green to checkers with no interruptions. Nigh, who was trying to win for the second time in a row in front of the hometown fans, stayed close and mounted a few challenges, but ended up about four lengths shy at the checkers. Bender passed Lange late in the race for third. Lange then finished fourth with Nunes fifth.

“In the first segment it was real tight and it was going backwards,” Kramer told the crowd after the race. “I told my brother (crew chief Seth Kramer), “don’t change it.’ Good thing we were able to hang on.”

With four races to go, Kramer has a 137-point advantage over second-place Nunes. Nigh stayed third in the championship standings and is only 51-points out of second. Bender and Greco round out the top five.

The CLS returns to action at the Bakersfield Speedway on September 21st.

Ventura Main Event Results (with starting positions)
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1st
2. Cody Nigh – Camarillo, CA – 2nd
3. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 7th
4. Aiden Lange – Lakewood, CA – 3rd
5. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg, CA – 5th
6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 6th
7. James Turnbull – Indio, CA – 4th
8. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 9th
9. Bruce Douglass – Ventura, CA – 10th
10. Wink Schweitzer – Bakersfield, CA – 8th
11. Jon Robertson – Torrance, CA – 12th
12. Jason Arnolde – San Diego, CA – 11th

POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1609
2. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg, CA – 1473
3. Cody Nigh - Camarillo, CA – 1421
4. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 1354
5. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1310
6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 1267
7. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 1221
8. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita, CA – 1143
9. Jeff Dyer – Yucca Valley, CA – 1141
10. Gage Cheek – Santa Clarita, CA – 977

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes
March 23 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
April 6 Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz
May 4 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
May 18 Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz
June 1 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
June 15 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes
July 6 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
July 27 Santa Maria Raceway – Jeff Dyer
August 10 Barona Speedway – Jarrett Kramer
August 24 Ventura Raceway – Cody Nigh
September 7 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
September 21 Bakersfield Speedway
October 5 Ventura Raceway
October 26 Ventura Raceway
November 17 Bakersfield Speedway

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com