Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, September 15, 2019) The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series heads to the Bakersfield Speedway this Saturday night, September 21st. The race will be the 14th of the 17-race schedule for the CLS in 2019 and the fourth of five on the track known as “The West’s Fastest 1/3 Mile High Banked Clay Oval.”

Bakersfield action from earlier this season featuring #91 A.J. Bender and Doug Nune. Pit Princess Photo.

Two weeks ago, at the Ventura Raceway, Jarrett Kramer bested local Cody Nigh for the win on the CLS home track. The victory was the 36-year old Spring Valley resident’s series-leading sixth triumph of the year and it allowed him to maintain a comfortable 136-point lead as he seeks his third CLS championship.

Going into the race on the 21st at the “Okie Bowl,” Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes is second in the standings. Nigh, who lives in Camarillo ranks third. San Diego’s A.J. Bender and Eric Greco of Palmdale are fourth and fifth.

In the CLS three previous appearances at Bakersfield this year, Nunes has scored the win two times. Five-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita won the other race there on April 20th.

After fracturing the tibia and femur at the knee on his right leg in a crash at Barona six weeks ago, Michnowicz will be returning after two races on the sidelines. In addition, his youngest son Kevin will be racing for the first time in 2019.

After the race on the 21st, the CLS will only have three races remaining on the 2019 schedule. The series will be at the Ventura Raceway on October 5th and 26th. It will return to Bakersfield on November 17th to close the 2019 campaign.

As well as the CLS, Modifieds, IMCA Stock Cars, Hobby Stocks and Mini Stocks will also be in action on Saturday. Spectator gates will open at 5:00 P.M. with racing at 7:00.

The Bakersfield Speedway is located at 5001 N. Chester Ext., in Bakersfield (93308). The track website is http://www.bakersfieldspeedway.com/ and the office phone number is (661) 393-7085.

POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Standings
1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley, CA – 1609
2. Doug Nunes – Kingsburg, CA – 1473
3. Cody Nigh - Camarillo, CA – 1421
4. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 1354
5. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1310
6. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA – 1267
7. Aiden Lange – Lakewood, CA – 1221
8. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita, CA – 1143
9. Jeff Dyer – Yucca Valley, CA – 1141
10. Gage Cheek – Santa Clarita, CA – 977

The POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2019 season possible: Lucas Oil, All Coast Construction, Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless and Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 26th season in 2019, please call Bobby Michnowicz at (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2019 POWRi Lucas Oil California Lightning Sprint Car Series
March 16 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes
March 23 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
April 6 Barona Speedway – Doug Nunes
April 20 Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz
May 4 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
May 18 Barona Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz
June 1 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
June 15 Bakersfield Speedway – Doug Nunes
July 6 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
July 27 Santa Maria Raceway – Jeff Dyer
August 10 Barona Speedway – Jarrett Kramer
August 24 Ventura Raceway – Cody Nigh
September 7 Ventura Raceway – Jarrett Kramer
September 21 Bakersfield Speedway
October 5 Ventura Raceway
October 26 Ventura Raceway
November 17 Bakersfield Speedway

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer

Photo courtesy of Pit Princess.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com