Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Upland, CA, March 10, 2020) The west coast’s longest-running and number one Lightning Sprint Car organization, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series, will open its 27th consecutive season of racing this Saturday night, March 14th, at the Bakersfield Speedway. The race will be the first of 15 on the 2020 schedule for the CLS and the first of five on the Kern County clay oval.

CLS action from the Bakersfield Speedway in 2019 with #7 Doug Nunes, #45 Cody Nigh and #91 A.J. Bender. Pit Princess Photo.

The fight for the CLS 2020 title will be wide open as three-time and defending series champion Jarrett Kramer is stepping away from racing. A strong contingent of young lions, led by Lakewood’s Aiden Lange, Eric Greco of Palmdale, Gardena’s Dominic Del Monte and James Turnbull Jr. of Indio are expected to fight for the 2020 crown with grizzled veterans Jeff Dyer of Yucca Valley, Cody Nigh of Camarillo, San Diego’s A.J. Bender, Doug Nunes of Kingsburg and five-time champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita.

As well as all the series regulars who are returning from the 2019 season, no less than five new teams are expected to join the traveling show in 2020.

Last year the CLS visited Bakersfield five times and the veteran contingent won all five races. Michnowicz and Nunes won two main events each and Bender claimed one.

In addition to the CLS, Pro Stocks, Hobby Stocks and American Stocks will be on Saturday’s card. Spectator gates will open at 4:00 P.M. with racing at 6:00.

Fans who would like to attend Saturday’s race in Bakersfield can find the track at 5001 N. Chester Ext., in Bakersfield (93308). The track website is http://www.bakersfieldspeedway.com/ and the office phone number is (661) 393-3373.

After Saturday’s season opener, the CLS will get right back in action on Saturday, March 21st at its home track, the Ventura Raceway.

2020 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule
March 14th Bakersfield Speedway
March 21st Ventura Raceway
April 18th Bakersfield Speedway
May 2nd Ventura Raceway
June 6th Ventura Raceway
June 13th Bakersfield Speedway
June 27th Merced Speedway Wayne Albright Memorial (Civil War Series/Non-Wing Challenge)
July 25th Santa Maria Raceway (with King of the West Sprint Cars)
August 15th Santa Maria Raceway (with USAC/CRA Sprint Cars)
August 29th Ventura Raceway
September 5th Ventura Raceway
September 19th Bakersfield Speedway
October 3rd Ventura Raceway
October 31st Ventura Raceway
November 17th Bakersfield Speedway (with USAC National Midgets)

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for its 27th season in 2020, please call Alex Grigoreas at (909) 437-3170.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer, 2019 Jarrett Kramer.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com