Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Upland, CA, October 26, 2020) In a season that has been hammered by disappointment due to the Covid 19 crisis, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series will combine with the Bay Cities Racing Association to end the 2020 season on a high note at the Hangtown 100 at the Placerville Speedway on November 19th, 20th, and 21st. The show will run in conjunction with the USAC National and Western Midgets.

The three-night affair will serve up a switch from the usual for both the CLS and BCRA as all three nights will be wingless races. In addition to cars from the CLS and BCRA, officials are expecting to draw entries from Washington, Colorado, and Wisconsin. The Thursday and Friday main events will pay a minimum of $300.00 to win and $75.00 to start. Saturday’s finale will put at least $1,000.00 into the winner’s wallet and will pay $100.00 to take the green flag.

“CLS and BCRA have worked all year to get to race the Hangtown 100,” CLS President Alex Grigoreas said. “Matt Wood of Elk Grove Ford called us and said we had it if we wanted it. Obviously, there was no hesitation in accepting the invitation. Dakota Albright and I believe that this could be the biggest non-wing race of the year and we are hoping to make it an annual affair. Dakota, Richard Hindman, and I have been praying for this opportunity.”

The Thursday and Friday shows will feature full programs for the CLS and BCRA with group qualifying, heats, B mains, and 20-lap A main events. Points will be accumulated, and the 12-highest point drivers will move directly into the A main event each night. Four more cars will come from the B main (s) to complete the field. The top 20 in points after the first two nights will earn spots in Saturday’s two qualifiers. The top five finishers in each qualifier will transfer directly into the first five rows for Saturday’s championship finale. The remainder of the cars will go into a pair of B main events with the top six finishers from each earning a ticket into the 22-car main event. The full format is listed further down in this release.

Pre-registration is required, and it is important to enter as soon as possible for parking assignments. The track entry fee is $50.00 and the entry blank is available online at the following link https://www.hangtown100.com/register-online. The pill draw fee will be $30.00 per night on Thursday and Friday.

Due to the Covid-19 crisis, spectators will not be allowed to attend the event in person. However, fans from all over the world can see the bevy of young CLS stars and their BCRA counterparts in action all three nights on Flo Racing. For more information or to subscribe to Flo, fans can use the following link. https://www.floracing.com/

“With the nature of things happening in our world, it has been tough for racers,” Grigoreas lamented. “We are hoping that the remaining races in California can help people end this difficult year on a good note.”

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the season in 2021, please call Alex Grigoreas at (909) 437-3170.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/


Format Thursday and Friday Format Points will be earned each night and accumulate to determine lineups for Saturday.

Qualifying order will be determined by pill draw and will be in group format. For the race night only points, the top 12 qualifiers will earn 60-55-50-45-40-35-30-25-20-15-10-5. For the Saturday two-night tally, the top 12 qualifiers will earn 12-11-10-9- 8-7-6-5-4-3-2- 1

20 or less cars 2 Heats
21 to 27 cars 3 Heats
28 or more cars 4 Heats

6 car inversion; fastest qualifier starts 6th in first heat, second fastest starts 6th in second heat and so on. After the top 6 of each heat has been filled, remaining cars will fill starting at 7th and on until the field is filled. All competitors who take original green will earn heat race points for the purpose of tallying total for Saturday’s line ups, 8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1. Race night heat race points will use ASCS point system (attached at bottom of this format)

B Main(s)
Cars outside the top 16 in points after heat races will start straight-up, with 17th in points starting on the pole. If two B mains are run the odd point getters will make up the first B and even point getters will make up the second B. One B main the top 4 will transfer to the rear of the A main, two B mains the top 2 from each will transfer to the rear of the A main.

A Main Event
The top 16 in points after heat races will start the night’s main event. After all heat races are ran, the fastest qualifier of the night will pull a pill for the A main event invert. The pills will consist of 0, 4, 4, 6 & 6. After the invert positions have been filled the remaining cars in the top 16 will be filled in order of points earned. B main transfers will fill the rear of the field.

For the purpose of tallying points for Saturday’s line ups, the following points will be added to main event finishers (20-19-18-17, etc.). In the event of a tie in points the car with the fastest qualifying time has the tie breaker.

Saturday Format

Saturday’s final night will be lined up by combined points from Thursday and Friday.

The top 20 in points will earn starts in one of two qualifiers. Odd point getters to Qualifier #1 and even number point getters to Qualifier #2. Qualifiers will start straight up with high point car on pole. The top five in each Qualifier will transfer to first five rows of Championship A Main.

B Mains
The remaining competitors will earn positions in 2 B mains. Positions 6 through 10 in Qualifiers will start in first five positions of respective B-main. The remaining point getters (21st and back) will start B-mains behind the top five (odd in first, even in second). The top six in each will transfer to rear of A Main.

Championship A Main
After both qualifiers are run, the high point car will pull a pill for the A main event invert. The pills will consist of 0, 6, 6, 8, 8, 10 & 10. B main transfers will fill the rear of the field.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer, 2019 Jarrett Kramer.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com