Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Upland, CA, August 10, 2021)
Less than 24-hours after a day that could best be labeled as “Black Monday” for the California Lightning Sprint Car Series, a ray of sunshine sparkled through the glumness and a race at the Ventura Raceway was added to the club’s championship schedule. The date of the added event is August 28th.

By the time noon rolled around on Monday, the CLS saw three of its races disappear from the schedule in a span of about three hours. Early in the morning, news broke that the Santa Maria Raceway had shuttered its doors. The CLS was slated to race there on August 28th and September 25th. If that was not bad enough, soon after, word reached CLS officials that the Bakersfield Speedway had canceled the next two Saturday nights, August 14th and 21st. The races were knocked from the schedule due to poor air quality caused by smoke from the fires in Northern California and extreme heat forecasted for this Saturday. That knocked out the CLS race that was on the calendar for this weekend.

CLS official Dick Hindman immediately got on the telephone to try and secure races to replace the cancelations. A phone call to longtime Ventura Raceway promoter Jim Naylor netted a date at the “Best Little Dirt Track In America” on Saturday, August 28th. Hindman is still working the phones and hopes to add at least one more date to make up for the canceled races.

The CLS would like to thank 2021 series sponsors Hoosier Tires, T Shirts By Timeless, TJ Forged Racing Wheels, and Walker Performance Filtration. If you or your company would like to become part of the series, please call Alex Grigoreas at (909) 437-3170.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/ or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

2021 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Point Standings
1. James Turnbull – Indio, CA – 917
2. Dave Gasper – Santa Barbara, CA – 847
3. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 836
4. Bobby Michnowicz – Oak Hills, CA – 694
5. Dominic Del Monte - Gardena, CA – 678
6. Jeff Dyer – Yucca Valley, CA – 672
7. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 623
8. Jon Robertson - Torrance, CA – 548
9. Aiden Lange - Lakewood, CA – 486
10. Pat Kelley - Chino, CA - 471

CLS/BCRA Civil War Series Point Standings
1. Dave Gasper – CLS – 259
2. James Turnbull – CLS – 213
3. Eric Greco – CLS – 212
4. Dominic Del Monte – 204
5. Brandon Leedy - BCRA – 202
6. Hunter Kinney – BCRA – 195
7. Josef Ferolito - BCRA – 157
8. Aiden Lange – CLS – 152
9. Danika Jo Parker – BCRA – 151
10. Bobby Michnowicz – CLS - 133

2021 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 13 Bakersfield Speedway – Eric Greco

April 10 Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

April 24 Merced Speedway (Wayne Albright Memorial - Round #1 of the Civil War Series with BCRA – Wingless) – James Turnbull

May 15 Bakersfield Speedway – A.J. Bender

June 5 Ventura Raceway – A.J. Bender

June 19 Keller Auto Speedway (Hanford) – Postponed due to heat.

July 3 Santa Maria Speedway – Eric Greco

July 24 Santa Maria Speedway (Wing Madness #1) Santa Maria – A.J. Bender

August 7 Merced Speedway (Civil War Series #2 with BCRA – Winged) – Dave Gasper

August 28 Ventura Raceway

September 18 Bakersfield Speedway (Civil War #3 with BCRA – Winged)

September 19 The Dirt Track At Kern County Raceway Park

October 2 Ventura Raceway

October 30 Ventura Raceway

November 16 Bakersfield Speedway (Civil War #4 with BCRA – Winged and Western States Lightning Sprint Car Championship)

November 18 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – (Co sanctioned with BCRA and in companion with the USAC National Midgets)

November 19 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – (Co sanctioned with BCRA and in companion with the USAC National Midgets)

November 20 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – (Co sanctioned with BCRA and in companion with the USAC National Midgets)

The schedule is subject to change due to Covid restrictions.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer, 2019 Jarrett Kramer.

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@aol.com