Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Upland, CA, September 29, 2021)
Going into round #12 of the 2021 California Lightning Sprint Car Series at the Ventura Raceway this Saturday, the points race has tightened up dramatically. Two weeks ago, Eric Greco came into the weekend doubleheader in Bakersfield 70-points behind James Turnbull. In less than 24 hours and on two different tracks, the teen hacked 29-points off the lead and only trails by 41 before this Saturday’s race.

James Turnbull has led the CLS points since April, but he is being pressured by Eric Greco, Lance Jennings photo.

Greco, who resides in Palmdale, won the first race of the 2021 campaign at the Bakersfield Speedway on March 13th. He led the championship standings until the third race of the year. That is when Turnbull, who calls Indio home, won the “Wayne Albright Memorial” on April 24th at the Merced Speedway. Since that night, the college student has held the point lead for more than five months. His cushion has hovered around 70-points give or take a few ever since he took the lead. That is, it hovered around 70-points until two weeks ago in Bakersfield.

The first night of the doubleheader weekend was at the Bakersfield Speedway. On that evening, Greco finished third in the 25-lap main event and Turnbull was one spot behind in fourth. That chipped 12-points off the leaders’ advantage. Twenty-four hours later on the other side of town at The Dirt Track at Kern County Raceway Park, Greco took third in the main event. Turnbull had a left rear come off his car in the heat race forcing him to start next to last in the main. From there he charged all the way to fifth on the hard to pass track and was the race “Hard Charger.” However, Greco trimmed another 17-points off the lead bringing him to 41-behind going into this weekend.

Adding intrigue to the championship chase is teenage driver David Gasper of Santa Barbara. He is the leading rookie in the series and is third in the championship standings. The youngster won the last race at KCRP with room to spare over Lakewood’s Aiden Lange and Greco. He now finds himself only 63-points behind out of second. Yucca Valley veteran Jeff Dyer and “Rockstar” Jon Robertson of Torrance are fourth and fifth.

Through the first 11 races of the campaign, Greco and San Diego’s A.J. Bender lead the series with three wins each. Gasper has two victories. Turnbull, Bobby Michnowicz of Oak Hills and his son, Kevin Michnowicz of Carson, all have one win each.

Spectator gates will open at 3:30 p.m. at Ventura and the first race will be at 5:30. The CLS will be joined on the night by the VRA Sprint Cars, Senior Sprint Cars, IMCA Sport Mods, and the NMRA TQ Midgets.

The Ventura Raceway is located adjacent to the beach on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard in Ventura (93001). The website is http://venturaraceway.com/ and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

The CLS would like to thank 2021 series sponsors Hoosier Tires, T Shirts By Timeless, TJ Forged Racing Wheels, and Walker Performance Filtration. If you or your company would like to become part of the series, please call Alex Grigoreas at (909) 437-3170.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/ or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints/

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points
1. James Turnbull – Indo, CA – 1268
2. Eric Greco – Palmdale, CA – 1227
3. David Gasper – Santa Barbara, CA – 1164
4. Jeff Dyer – Yucca Valley, CA – 1021
5. Jon Robertson – Torrance, CA – 824
6. A.J. Bender – San Diego, CA – 823
7. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena, CA - 813
8. Aiden Lange – Lakewood, CA – 795
9. Bobby Michnowicz – Oak Hills, CA – 759
10. Pat Kelley – Chino, CA - 724

CLS/BCRA Civil War Series Point Standings
1. Eric Greco – CLS - 336
2. Dave Gasper – CLS – 335
3. James Turnbull – CLS – 325
4. Brandon Leedy - BCRA – 297
5. Dominic Del Monte – CLS - 247
6. Terry Bergstrom – BCRA – 240
7. Dakota Albright - BCRA – 227
8. Bobby Michnowicz – CLS – 1226
8. Jeff Dyer - CLS – 226
10. Aiden Lange – CLS - 215

2021 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 13 Bakersfield Speedway – Eric Greco

April 10 Bakersfield Speedway – Bobby Michnowicz

April 24 Merced Speedway (Wayne Albright Memorial - Round #1 of the Civil War Series with BCRA – Wingless) – James Turnbull

May 15 Bakersfield Speedway – A.J. Bender

June 5 Ventura Raceway – A.J. Bender

June 19 Keller Auto Speedway (Hanford) – Postponed due to heat.

July 3 Santa Maria Speedway – Eric Greco

July 24 Santa Maria Speedway (Wing Madness #1) Santa Maria – A.J. Bender

August 7 Merced Speedway (Civil War Series #2 with BCRA – Winged) – Dave Gasper

August 28 Ventura Raceway – Eric Greco

September 18 Bakersfield Speedway (Civil War #3 with BCRA – Winged) – Kevin Michnowicz

September 19 The Dirt Track At Kern County Raceway Park – David Gasper

October 2 Ventura Raceway

October 30 Ventura Raceway

November 16 Bakersfield Speedway (Civil War #4 with BCRA – Winged and Western States Lightning Sprint Car Championship)

November 18 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – (Co sanctioned with BCRA and in companion with the USAC National Midgets)

November 19 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – (Co sanctioned with BCRA and in companion with the USAC National Midgets)

November 20 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – (Co sanctioned with BCRA and in companion with the USAC National Midgets)

The schedule is subject to change due to Covid restrictions.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer, 2019 Jarrett Kramer

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@gmail.com