Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, June 19, 2022)
The California Lightning Sprint car series will return to Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway for the first of three straight appearances at the beachside Oval this Saturday night, June 25th. The race will be the fourth of seven CLS races at the famous track in 2022.

Yucca Valley veteran Jeff Dyer holds a slender lead in the tight points race coming into Saturday night. Palmdale’s Eric Greco is currently second and only trails Dyer by 15 points. Defending series champion David Gasper of Santa Barbara occupies the third spot in the championship chase and is only 16 points behind Greco. Camarillo’s Cody Nigh is fourth and is only 60 points out of the lead. Series-leading rookie Will Browne of Glendora is fifth.

Saturday will be round #9 of the CLS 2022 championship season. Thus far, 16-year-old Gasper leads the way with three wins including the last race on June 11th at the Bakersfield Speedway. The only other driver with more than one victory is San Diego’s A.J. Bender who has two. Grant Sexton of Lakeside, five times series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Oak Hills, and Greco have one triumph each.

In the three previous appearances of the CLS at “The Best Little Dirt Track In America” this year, Gasper, Michnowicz, and Greco have posted the wins. Greco won the latest race at the 1/5 of a mile Oval that is located on the Ventura County Fairgrounds on May 21st.

After Saturday, the CLS will return to Ventura on the 9th and 23rd of July. The last race of the year at the popular track will come two nights before Halloween on October 29th.

In addition to the CLS, Saturday’s entertaining show will also feature the VRA Sprint Cars, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, WMR Midgets, NMRA TQ Midgets, and Motorcycles. Spectator gates will open at 3:00 p.m. and the first race will be at 5:30. Adult tickets are $18.00. For seniors 60 and over, military with ID, and students with an ID it is $15.00. Children 12 and under are admitted free when accompanied by an adult.

The Ventura Raceway is located on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 W. Harbor Boulevard (93001). The track website is http://venturaraceway.com/ and the office phone number is (805) 648-RACE.

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Point Standings
1. Jeff Dyer, Yucca Valley, CA, 897
2. Eric Greco, Palmdale, CA, 882
3. David Gasper, Santa Barbara, CA, 866
4. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, CA, 837
5. Will Browne, Glendora, CA, 721
6. Bobby Michnowicz, Oak Hills, CA, 613
7. Connor Speir, Fillmore, CA, 581
8. Pat Kelley, Chino, CA, 563
9. Jon Robertson, Torrance, CA, 416
10. A.J. Bender, San Diego, CA, 366

CLS vs BCRA “Civil War Series” Points
1. David Gasper – CLS - 142
2. Dakota Albright – BCRA – 126
3. Eric Greco – CLS – 126
4. Will Browne – CLA 116
5. Harlee Aguilera – BCRA – 109
6. Cody Nigh – CLS – 104
7. Greg Dennett – BCRA – 100
8. Hunter Kinney – BCRA – 92
9. Matt Land – BCRA – 89
10. Tim Kinser - 83

The following companies have become marketing partners with the CLS in 2022. They have offered up more than $13,000.00 in contingencies that will be awarded on top of the regular racing purses and they will be paid out throughout the year. Yoshimura R&D, Hoosier Tires West, T-Shirts By Timeless, Extreme Mufflers, Saldana Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Speed Mart, Cold Fire West, West Evens Motorsports, RC Fuel Injection, Jake Swanson Shock Technology, Advanced Racing Suspensions, CSI Shocks, Eibach Springs, Triple X Race Components, King Racing Products, Hyper Racing Products, Rebel Gears, Vahlco Wheels, Wilwood Disk Brakes, Fuel Safe Systems, MPI, Circle Track Performance, E-Z UP, Hepfner Racing, Smith Titanium, and Hoosier Speed.

If you or your company would like to become a partner of the longtime racing organization, contact Jon Robertson via email at mailto:jon.robertson@sbcglobal.net or by calling (310) 367-9050.

2022 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 25 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – Grant Sexton

April 2 Merced Speedway Non-Wing –– Civil War #1 – David Gasper

April 16 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – A.J. Bender

April 30 Ventura Raceway Winged (Make Up Main) David Gasper

April 30 Ventura Raceway Winged – Bobby Michnowicz

May 14 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – A.J. Bender

May 21 Ventura Raceway Winged – Eric Greco

June 11 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – David Gasper

June 25 Ventura Raceway Winged

July 9 Ventura Raceway Winged

July 23 Ventura Raceway Winged

August 26 Silver Dollar Speedway Winged – Civil War #2

August 27 Placerville Speedway Winged – Civil War #3

September 10 Lemoore Raceway Winged

September 24 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – Civil War #4

October 8 Mohave Valley Raceway Winged – With SWLS

October 29 Ventura Raceway Winged

November 15 Bakersfield Speedway Winged – With USAC Midgets - Civil War #5

November 17 Placerville Speedway Non-Wing – With USAC Midgets - No Points

November 18 Placerville Speedway Non-Wing – With USAC Midgets - No Points

November 19 Placerville Speedway Non-Wing – With USAC Midgets - No Points

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/ or on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints


1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer, 2019 Jarrett Kramer, 2021 David Gasper

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@gmail.com