Home Page
Latest News
Race Results
Point Standings
Race Schedule
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Tracks
CLS Rules
Racer Information
CLS Awards
CLS Race Gear
Pit Chatter
Racing Links
Contact Us


(Torrance, CA, May 12, 2024)
California Lightning Sprint Car Series legend Bobby Michnowicz will be looking for his third straight Bakersfield Speedway victory when the CLS visits the famous West Coast oval this Saturday night, May 18th. In addition to seeking his third win in a row on the track, the 60-year-old star is looking to extend his point lead as he chases his seventh CLS title.

Bobby Michnowicz after setting fast time at Bakersfield Speedway in April. CLS photo.

Michnowicz, who lives in Oak Hills, California, dominated the first race of the season at the “Okie Bowl” on March 9th. He was the fastest qualifier, placed second in his heat, and scored a runaway win after leading the final 24 laps of the main event. California Highway Patrol Officer Jeff Dyer of Yucca Valley placed second after a thrilling duel with Lakeside’s Aiden Lange who ended up third. Palmdale’s Eric Greco and Bakersfield local Broedy Graham finished fourth and fifth.

At the CLS's last appearance at Bakersfield on April 20th, Michnowicz was the fastest qualifier again. He followed that up with a fourth-place finish in his heat. In the main, he started on the pole and led all 25 laps. However, he had a harder time than he did in March as he had to deal with lapped traffic and the determined efforts of his nephew, Cody Nigh of Camarillo. When the checkered flag fell on that race, Michnowicz had a 1/3 of a straightaway lead on Nigh. Visiting BCRA regulars Hunter Kinney of Whitney and Greg Dennett of Livermore placed third and fourth. Teen Zate Legend of Riverside scored his first CLS top-five when he ended up fifth.

In the other three CLS events this season, Lange and Fillmore’s Connor Speir split the victories in the first two races of the year at the Imperial Valley Raceway in March. Two weeks ago at Ventura, USAC/CRA Sprint Car star AJ Bender of San Diego won the fifth race of the 2024 campaign.

Michnowicz comes into Saturday’s race at Bakersfield with a 30-point lead over Nigh in the championship standings. Greco currently holds the third spot. Dyer and Lange are fourth and fifth.

After the first five races of the year, Michnowicz has led more than double the number of main event laps than any other driver. He has been at the point for 49 of the first 115 feature laps of the season. Speir is second with 20 laps led while Dyer is third with 17. Lange and non-series regular Bender are fourth and fifth with 16 and eight laps led respectively.

Joining the CLS for the exciting night of racing in Bakersfield will be the Ultimate Sprint Car Series presented by Inland Rigging, Hobby Stocks, American Stocks and WRA Vintage Cars. Spectator gates at the track known as “The West’s Fastest 1/3 Mile High Banked Clay Oval” will open at 4:00 p.m. with racing at 6:00. Adult tickets are $20.00. Seniors 65+ and military get in for $18.00. For kids 6-12 it is $15.00 and children 5 and under are free. Parking is free. The track is located at 5001 North Chester Ext. Ave., Bakersfield (93308). The track website is bakersfieldspeedway.com and the office phone number is (661) 393-3373.

The CLS would like to thank the following companies for being partners in the 2024 season. Extreme Mufflers, RacingJunk.com and Hoosier Tire.

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points
1. Bobby Michnowicz, Oak Hills, CA … 519
2. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, CA … 489
3. Eric Greco, Palmdale, CA … 430
4. Jeff Dyer, Yucca Valley, CA … 401
5. Aiden Lange, Lakewood, CA … 382
6. Jon Robertson, Torrance, CA … 375
6. Zate Legend, Riverside, CA … 375
8. Seth Dyer, Yucca Valley, CA … 368
9. Connor Speir, Fillmore, CA … 355
10. Pat Kelley, Chino, CA … 285

2024 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 1 Imperial Valley Raceway Mid-Winter Fair Aiden Lange

March 2 Imperial Valley Raceway Mid-Winter Fair Connor Speir

March 9 Bakersfield Speedway CLS Bobby Michnowicz

April 13 Merced Speedway CSL vs BCRA Civil War #1 Rained Out

April 20 Bakersfield Speedway CLS Bobby Michnowicz

May 4 Ventura Raceway CLS AJ Bender

May 18 Bakersfield Speedway CLS

June 8 Ventura Raceway CLS

June 15 Bakersfield Speedway CLS

July 5 Santa Maria Speedway CLS

July 6 Santa Maria Speedway CLS

July 27 Santa Maria Speedway CLS vs BCRA Civil War #2

September 13 Bakersfield Speedway CLS vs BCRA Civil War #3

September 14 Ventura Raceway CLS

September 28 Ventura Raceway CLS

October 5 Merced Speedway CLS vs BCRA Civil War #4 Albright Memorial

October 26 Ventura Raceway CLS

November 15 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – No Points

November 16 Placerville Speedway Hangtown 100 – No Points

November 26 Bakersfield Speedway CLS

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at http://racecls.com/ and follow on the club’s Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/californialightningsprints.

1994 Tony Everhart, 1995 Gary Sexton, 1996 Rob Sczymczak, 1997 Jon Rahe, 1998 Chris Rahe, 1999 Brent Sexton, 2000 Greg Bragg, 2001 Greg Bragg, 2002 Greg Bragg, 2003 David Cardey, 2004 Keith Janca, 2005 Johnny Bates, 2006 Donny Gansen, 2007 Shane Rossen, 2008 Brent Sexton, 2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr., 2010 Jarrett Kramer, 2011 Tim Brown, 2012 Bobby Michnowicz, 2013 Stephen Limon, 2014 Bobby Michnowicz, 2015 Bobby Michnowicz, 2016 Bobby Michnowicz, 2017 Bobby Michnowicz, 2018 Jarrett Kramer, 2019 Jarrett Kramer, 2021 David Gasper, 2022 David Gasper, 2023 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768 mailto:sdaloisiosports@gmail.com